Skip to content

The Political Section

In the Political Section, we follow the domestic and foreign affairs of India as well as our side accredited countries, Sri Lanka, the Maldives, Nepal and Bhutan. We also take part in the work of the European Union in India led by the EU Delegation in New Delhi.
The Political Section also supports bilateral cooperation between Denmark and India. 

In 2008, Denmark and India agreed to form a Joint Commission, which constitutes the base of our bilateral cooperation. The first meeting took place in 2010 between then Danish Foreign Minister, Ms. Lene Espersen, and Minister for External Affairs, Mr. S.M. Krishna.

On 12th May 2020,  the third meeting in Indo-Danish Joint Commission took place via video conference between the Danish Foreign Minister, Mr. Jeppe Kofod and Indian Foreign Minister, Dr. S. Jaishankar.

The two Ministers agreed to work towards establishing a Green Strategic Partnership between India and Denmark building on existing green and sustainable collaborations under the Joint Commission. The partnership will focus on areas such as climate change, energy, circular economy, water, sustainable food and agriculture. 

Photo from the Raisina Dialogue where both Ministers met last time in January, 2020