Skip to content

Greenland and The Faroe Islands

In the text below you can read about Greenland and The Faroe Islands. The links to the left can provide you more information.


Self Government was established in Greenland on 21 June 2009.

Greenland has an area of around 2.2 million square kilometres, making it the largest island in the world.

The inland ice, which covers approximately 1.8 million square kilometres, is the second largest ice cap in the world. In some places, the ice is up to 3.5 km thick. The northernmost point of the island, Cape Morris Jesup, is the northernmost land area in the world and is situated about 730 km from the North Pole. The southern point, Cape Farewell, is located at the same latitude as the Nordic capitals Oslo and Helsinki.

The Faroe Islands

The Faroe Islands are located in the Atlantic Ocean, almost midway between Norway, Iceland and Scotland and consist of 18 islands separated by narrow sounds and fjords.

The Faroe Islands are part of the kingdom of Denmark. The islands were a Danish county until 1948, but have since then been self-governing as laid down in the Home Rule Act. Defence matters and foreign policy do not come under the Home Rule, but the Faroese authorities do conduct negotiations regarding fishing rights with other countries, both with and without the participation of the Danish Foreign Office.